Skip to Main Content

Extended Essay: Identify Sources

Note from the IB

Accessing sources: technology literacy—using electronic sources

Using the internet as a resource for finding information is more and more commonplace, and it is a tremendous resource. However, it must be used critically and with care. One important thing to be aware of is that unlike resources found in a library in printed form, those found on the internet may not have been through a review or editing process.

Students should:

  • know appropriate search engines to use
  • not rely exclusively on sources found on the internet
  • have a clear and focused research question to help them search more directly on the internet (given the amount of information available it is easy to be overwhelmed)
  • critically evaluate the reliability and validity of the information presented on the internet
  • keep a detailed record of all references, in accordance with the IB’s minimum requirements, ensuring that the URL of where the source was located is written down correctly. This includes recording the date that the site was accessed.
  • The Researcher's reflection space (RRS) is a good tool for supporting this practice.

A note about online Encyclopedias (e.g. Wikipedia)

Using online encyclopedias and other similar information websites

As a tool for research, free online encyclopedias can be valuable resources, but there are several reasons why students should be cautious in using them:

  • they tend to be general encyclopedias
  • very often the author is unknown
  • there is no guarantee that the content meets standards of academic rigour—it may not, for example, have been through a process of peer review
  • the content can be unstable, in that it can change at any time.

Teachers, supervisors and coordinators may choose to caution against the use of free online encyclopedias and other similar information websites. Certainly a bibliography that only cites these for reference or an argument that is overly reliant on them will not demonstrate the necessary “range of sources” required by the assessment criteria for the extended essay. They may also not be relevant or appropriate for the research question being explored.

Many online encyclopedias are not scholarly sources; however, if used appropriately and critically they can offer a useful starting point for many students undertaking research. Rather than absolutely discouraging the use of these sites, it may be more supportive to explore their potential as a platform for training students in research and thinking skills, especially in terms of assessing and evaluating the information they provide.

If using free online encyclopedias, students should do the following.

  • Follow the references provided by the encyclopedia; this will help to verify the information given.
  • Consider whether the article is part of a larger project, where a number of people are contributing to the discussion. If it is, then it implies that the writers have more than a casual interest in the topic being written about.
  • Look to see if there is a rating for the information provided. If there is then this means that the information has undergone some sort of peer review and been given a rating. While not the same as an academic peer review, it can aid the judgment of the “quality” of the information.

The key point to remember, if students do use information that is found on the internet, is that they are responsible for ensuring that it is both reliable and accurate. 

The IB recommends that in order for students to show that they are evaluating their sources they should produce an annotated bibliography as part of their Researcher’s reflection space. An annotated bibliography provides a concise summary of each source and some assessment of its value and relevance. A good annotated bibliography will:

  • encourage students to think critically about the sources they are using and how these relate to their chosen research area in terms of their relevance for example
  • provide a way to help students determine whether a source is of use to them in their research
  • allow students to keep track of their reading and enable them to make informed decisions about which sources to use in writing their essay.

Scholarly Articles vs Magazines

As IB candidates you are highly encouraged to use scholarly, peer-reviewed journal articles for most writing assignments.  This guide describes the differences between scholarly and popular periodicals.

Scholarly (peer-reviewed) Journals
Magazine (popular)

Main purpose: to inform and to report on original research or experimentation.

Main purpose:  to provide information or to entertain.

Serious look; mostly text, may have charts, graphs, and illustrations.

Usually quite attractive, glossy in appearance; Articles often heavily illustrated. Includes newspapers.

Always cite their sources in footnotes or bibliographies;

usually, have an abstract at the beginning; addresses,

credentials of authors usually included.

Sometimes cite sources, though most often do not.

A journal contains scholarly articles with abstracts and references (e.g., footnotes, parenthetical references, citations).

Submissions are peer-reviewed (except for editorials or columns) which means that the scholar's manuscript is evaluated prior to being accepted for publication by experts or researchers in the same field (academic peers) to decide if the work meets professional standards.

The author's tone is serious and s/he uses words and ideas that are understood by experts but might be harder for a general reader to follow. The print layout may include graphs and charts, but few photos, pictures, and ads. For example, see Cell Research.  In the growing number of peer-reviewed electronic journals, color and design elements are more prominent. For example, see BMC Biology. 

Often published by an academic or professional organization, a journal is designed to advance knowledge or publish research findings in a scholarly discipline.

A magazine appeals to a general audience, although their depth ranges from substantive to simple.  In all good writing, concepts are explained and information is attributed, but the author does not provide >the rigorous proof or methodology evident in scholarly work.  In magazines designed for a more educated audience, a short list of books for further reading may follow an article, but footnotes are rare.

Eye-catching pictures, colorful design elements and fonts, and many ads are evident. For example, see Psychology Today or The New Yorker.  The goal of a magazine is to attract, inform and entertain general readers

An article is scholarly if it:

  • Is 7-20+ pages long.
  • Includes footnotes or bibliography.
  • Is written by professors or scholars.
  • Is found in a peer-reviewed journal.
  • Includes an abstract at beginning.

An article is popular if it:

  • Is 2-5 pages long.
  • Is slick and attractive with lots of photographs and drawings.
  • Lacks cited sources.
  • Written in easily understood language.
  • Sometimes informs, but mostly entertains the reader.

NoodleTools Support Center. "Is My Source a Magazine or a Journal?", NoodleTools Knowledge Base. NoodleTools Inc.,
      29 June 2012. Web. 16 Aug. 2015. <http://www.noodletools.com/helpdesk/kb/index.php?action=article&id=36&relid=2>. 

Databases for EE

Britannica School

ID: singapore

JSTOR

Username: cissingapore / Password: canadagoose

EBSCOhost

Username: cis / Password: Research@2023

National Library Board

ID lakeside
 
Password Canadian2020

National Library Board - OMG!!!

This is the most amazing resource you have available. Use it NOW!!!

google?

However you should be using Databases which we have access to in the school.

Remember especially if you are doing a topic that is Singapore specific you should join the Library of NUS as there are some great resources that are only available on their database. Ask Mrs Miller for more information.

Bart Simpson writes on the chalkboard

southorangemiddleschoollibrary.wikispaces.com