Skip to main content

CIS Lakeside Secondary Library: Home

IMPORTANT

SMART TOOL. SMART RESEARCH. SMART YOU!

Databases

Britannica School

ID: singapore

 

Newsela

Newsela provides quality newspaper articles for schools. 

JSTOR

Username: cissingapore / Password: canadagoose

EBSCOhost

Username: cis / Password: Singapore@2019

Brain Pop LKS

username: lkspop / password: school

PebbleGo LKS

Username: lkspebble / password: school

Smithsonian Open Access

Millions of open access images and primary source materials!

Search and Meta Search Engines

Senior Library Catalog

Audio Books

LibriVox

Free public domain books read by volunteers. No login required. Books are available in a variety of languages.  Most texts are public domain books from Project Gutenberg, so they are classics and older books.  Books can be searched by title, author, genre/subject, and language, and can be downloaded. As of 24 March 2020 this contained 13,735 cataloged works in 40 languages, with 1,778 non-English works.

Storynory

Over 600 audio stories for children, including fairy tales, fables, poems, music, myths, classic authors and original stories. Content is free, public domain and can be downloaded. 

Loyal Books

All audiobooks on Loyal Books are public domain.  Most books are digitized by Project Gutenberg,org and recorded by LibriVox and are sorted by genre and languages. 

Internet Archives - Audio Books and Poetry

Listen to free audio books and poetry recordings! This library of audio books and poetry features digital recordings and MP3's from the Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, LibriVox, Project Gutenberg, Maria Lectrix, and Internet Archive users.  You can search by year, collection, title, keywords, creator and and language. 12,000 audio books as of 23 March 2020.   

Digital Book

This site includes lots of well-known and lesser-known titles in both audio and ebook format.  You can browse by popularity, and you can see the trending audiobooks

Light Up Your Brain - Audio Stories for Kids

These stories are public domain stories that classic tales or self-published.  Each story can be downloaded as a mp3  file and has a text version parents can read with their children.  

NLB Overdrive - Public Libraries in Singapore

You will need a NLB Library Membership to borrow ebooks/audiobooks from the NLB Overdrive.  Audiobooks for children include chapter books, picture books, non-fiction and graphic novels/comic books. You can borrow up to 16 ebooks/audiobooks AND 16 print books from the library at one time. 

ebooks

Epic!Epic! Books

Epic Books gives access to eBooks while students are on campus logged into a teacher's classroom. During the COVID-19 virtual learning situation students can access Epic! from home, when invited by their teachers. Contact your homeroom teacher for instructions.

TumbleBooksTumbleBooks

For K-6 to build reading, math and literacy skills. it includes animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, graphic novels, playlists, and books in French and Spanish. 
Username: cislks / Password: books

‚ÄčTumbleMath

TumbleMath is a K-6 math ebook database, a comprehensive collection of math picture books online.
Login: 
Username: tumble2020 / Password: A3b5c6 Access until 31 August 2020

CIS Library ebooks

CIS Library

How to read ebooks from our CIS Library

Login: Username and password are the same. Please use your CIS email address, the part before the @ (e.g. for students: abcd20## / abcd20##).

International Children's Digital LibraryInternational Children's Digital Library

A wide range of children's books that can be selected by age, country or language.  

 

NLB - Singapore's Public Libraries: register online!

With a NLB membership you can access ebooks, magazines and databases online. You can also access print materials, books and DVDs at 27 branch libraries around Singapore.  Here are more details about the benefits of joining NLB. 

The National Library branches are temporarily closed from 7 April 2020 to 4 May 2020. However, members can still access their amazing collection of digital audiobooks and e-books. Foreigners with a SingPass can register for NLB library membership online via this link:https://account.nlb.gov.sg/spfregister

A one-time registration fee of $10.50 and an annual foreign membership fee of $42.80 are payable.

Follow these instructions to install the Overdrive App  or find info here on the Libby App (for iPhone) when you have your username and password.

WHAT'S NEW

Find out what's happening in the world! 

Access New York Times articles in both English and Chinese.

Click on the "Log In" button and use your CIS Google account!

 

Extended Essay