Skip to main content

CIS Lakeside Primary Library: Home

Welcome to our Primary School Library home page.

Primary Library Catalog

Book Recommendation

Library Wish List

Library Help

Library organisation

Website - Practice Library Organisation

Red Dot Book Voting!

Red Dot Book Voting

Red Dot Book Voting is open until the 30th of April 2020. 

Students from Grade 3 up can vote online for their favourite Red Dot book of this year. You can vote for one book per category. Click on the picture above to open the link and follow the instructions on the form. Voting is pen for students only!

To refresh your memory: these are the books:

Red Doot Book 2019-2020

 

ebooks

Epic!Epic! Books

Epic Books gives access to eBooks while students are on campus logged into a teacher's classroom. During the COVID-19 virtual learning situation students can access Epic! from home, when invited by their teachers. Contact your homeroom teacher for instructions.

TumbleBooksTumbleBooks

For K-6 to build reading, math and literacy skills. it includes animated talking picture books, chapter books, videos, non-fiction titles, graphic novels, playlists, and books in French and Spanish. 
Username: cislks / Password: books

​TumbleMath

TumbleMath is a K-6 math ebook database, a comprehensive collection of math picture books online.
Login: 
Username: tumble2020 / Password: A3b5c6 Access until 31 August 2020

CIS Library ebooks

CIS Library

How to read ebooks from our CIS Library

Login: Username and password are the same. Please use your CIS email address, the part before the @ (e.g. for students: abcd20## / abcd20##).

International Children's Digital LibraryInternational Children's Digital Library

A wide range of children's books that can be selected by age, country or language.  

 

NLB - Singapore's Public Libraries: register online!

With a NLB membership you can access ebooks, magazines and databases online. You can also access print materials, books and DVDs at 27 branch libraries around Singapore.  Here are more details about the benefits of joining NLB. 

The National Library branches are temporarily closed from 7 April 2020 to 4 May 2020. However, members can still access their amazing collection of digital audiobooks and e-books. Foreigners with a SingPass can register for NLB library membership online via this link:https://account.nlb.gov.sg/spfregister

A one-time registration fee of $10.50 and an annual foreign membership fee of $42.80 are payable.

Follow these instructions to install the Overdrive App  or find info here on the Libby App (for iPhone) when you have your username and password.

Audio Books and Podcasts

AudibleAudible - stories to listen to

Audible offers free access to their audio stories during COVID; in six different languages.

AudioBookCloud​AudioBookCloud (from TumbleBooks)
is an online audio book library collection of streaming audio books for schools and libraries. Login: Username: tumble2020  Password: A3b5c6 Access until 31 August 2020

Bedtime FMStory Time (from Bedtime FM)

Story Time is a free fortnightly audiobook podcast for children ages 2-13. Each story is usually less than 20 minutes long.   Check each story for recommended age group. The stories can be downloaded 

Light up your brainLight Up Your Brain 

Listen to classic tales or self-published stories. Each story can also be downloaded and has a text version parents can read with their children. 

StorynoryStorynory

Over 600 audio stories for children, including fairy tales, fables, poems, music, myths, classic authors and original stories. Content is free, public domain and can be downloaded. 

Story PodcastStories Podcast

Bedtime show for kids of all ages. Kid-friendly retellings of classic stories, fairy tales, and original works. The longer stories with a vivid vocabulary are great for bigger kids past the age for picture books but who still love a good bedtime story.

Flyest Fabvles​Flyest Fables

For Grade 4-8: Flyest Fables brings you anthology style and critically acclaimed hopepunk fables for the 21st century. Created by Morgan Givens. Start listening at Episde 1. Themes can be serious (bullying, homelessness) but are handled with sensitivity and remain appropriate for kids. 

LibriVoxLibriVox

Free public domain (Project Gutenberg)audio books read by volunteers in 40 languages. They are classics and older books which can be searched by title, author, genre/subject, and language, and can be downloaded. 

Loyal BooksLoyal Books

All audiobooks on Loyal Books are public domain.  Most books are digitized by Project Gutenberg,org and recorded by LibriVox and are sorted by genre and languages. 

Internet ArchiveInternet Archive - Audio Books and Poetry

Listen to free audio books and poetry recordings! This library of audio books and poetry features digital recordings and MP3's from the Naropa Poetics Audio Archive, LibriVox, Project Gutenberg, Maria Lectrix, and Internet Archive users.

Story Time from SpaceStory Time from Space

Renown children’s books read by astronauts from the International Space Station.  Click on the tabs Science Time Videos and Story Time Videos for books about science and space. No registration required for videos. 

Online Sources

Brain Pop LKS

username: lkspop / password: school

 

 

PebbleGo LKS

Username: lkspebble / password: school

Britannica School

ID: singapore

Britannica Image Quest

ID: singapore


Britannica Image Quest contains images from providers such as Dorling Kindersley, National Geographic, and Getty. All images are rights-cleared for educational use.

BrainPop JR LKS

Username: lkspop / Password: books

NoodleTools

Citation tool for creating references to books, online resources and more during the research process

Newsela

Newsela provides quality nonfiction articles for schools. Articles can be adjusted by lexile level.

Literacy Links

Book Club KidsBook Club for Kids

For students in grades 4-6. In each 20 minute podcast, students talk about their favourite and popular books with Kitty Felde, a radio journalist.   Each show features a trio of students discussing a favorite book, an interview with the author, and a celebrity reading. You can sign up for regular emails where teachers, librarians and parents share their tips on reading.

A Book and a Hug

"Find your favorite books.

Every book is an adventure waiting to be opened. Discover your reader personality and get ready to find you next favorite book." (from the website)

Brightly StorytimeBrightly Storytime (YouTube Channel)

The Brightly Storyime YouTube channe brings you full-length picturebooks read out loud by our storyteller, Ms. Linda, every week. Brightly is a resource to help parents raise lifelong readers and is launched in partnership with Penguin Random House.

KidLit TV​KidLit TV (YouTube Channel)

Read alouds, podcasts/audio books, book trailers and story activities for popular children's books.

Safe Search Engines

DuckDuckGo

The search engine that doesn't collect or share your personal information.

Ecosia Search Engine

Search with Ecosia and plant trees with your searches - for free!