How to create an Annotated Bibliography.
|
Purdue Writing lab is excellent at explaining requirements for many aspects of citation. Click on the logo to go to the section on electronic sources. |
References to online materials should include the title of the extract used as well as the website address, the date it was accessed and, if possible, the author.
In other words, all electronic sources must be date stamped by including the date the student accessed the resource (for example, accessed 12 March 2016). Caution should be exercised with information found on websites that do not give references or that cannot be cross-checked against other sources. The more important a particular point is to the essay, the more the quality of its source needs to be evaluated.
Useful, if you cannot find how to write the annotation in Noodletools
JStor, Researchgate, Epsco
Yes..... you must be getting articles from these databases. The first thing an examiner looks at is your works cited page. Only having internet sites listed immediately puts you down at the C grade and less level.
Get articles and cite them properly - DO NOT CITE THE DATABASE cite the article!!
They often have something like this to help you..
Bibliography
A bibliography is an alphabetical list of every source used to research and write the essay. Sources that are not cited in the body of the essay but were important in informing the approach taken should be cited in the introduction or in an acknowledgment. The bibliography must list only those sources cited.
Citations
A citation is a shorthand method of making a reference in the body of an essay, either as an in-text citation or footnote/endnote. This must then be linked to the full reference at the end of the essay in the bibliography. A citation provides the reader with accurate references so that he or she can locate the source easily. How sources are cited varies with the particular referencing style that has been chosen. It is important to emphasize that there must be consistency of method when citing sources.
Referencing
A reference is a way of indicating to the reader, in an orderly form, where information has been obtained. A reference provides all the information needed to find the source material. References must be cited because:
References must be given whenever someone else’s work is quoted or summarized. References can come from many different sources, including books, magazines, journals, newspapers, emails, internet sites and interviews.
There are a number of different styles available for use when writing research papers; whatever style is chosen, it must be applied consistently and in line with the IB’s minimum requirements. The style should be applied in both the final draft of the essay and in the initial research stages of taking notes. This is good practice, not only for producing a high-quality final product, but also for reducing the opportunities and temptation to plagiarize.
The IB’s minimum requirements include:
Any references to interviews should state the name of the interviewer, the name of the interviewee, the date and the place of the interview.
Two Really Useful Documents to read
For more detailed information on styles for citations and referencing please refer to:
There are different ways this can be done.
Source: Ashley Maxwell, "How to create annotated bibliographies with Noodletools", Youtube, Apr 26 2016, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dZk5I43THV4
Another way also recommended by the IB is to utilise the following format - Samples shown from different subject areas.
Biology
| Bibliographic information | Avelino, J, Willocquet, L and Savary, S. 2004. “Effects of Crop Management Patterns on Coffee Rust Epidemics”. Plant Pathology. Vol 53, number 5. Pp 541–547. |
| Content/theme(s) | How crop management systems can affect the spread of coffee rust epidemics. The role of mathematical modelling supported by data from the field is discussed and new approaches to managing the coffee crop are suggested. |
| Author’s authority | The main author works at a government agricultural research station in Costa Rica and has published many articles in pest control, agriculture and mathematical modelling. Clearly a recognized scientific authority in the coffee-growing business. |
| Purpose | To suggest novel ways of dealing with a major tropical agricultural disease through an integrated scientific approach. |
| Usefulness |
|
Annotated Bibliography vs. Literature Review from UCF Libraries on Vimeo.
Use NoodleTools for your citations!
Have a go at these 3 modules from Monash University. It is entitled Demystifying Citation.
It will take 30 minutes. Do it and help yourself.
For many of you English is your second language. It is certainly permissable to obtain information from journals and other sources that are in your own language - however, how do you cite this effectively. The following extract is taken from the IB EE forum and was in response to the EE supervisor in the Concordia school in Thailand asking about using Thai language sources.
It is certainly permissible to use sources which are not in the language of the essay, but translation into the target language is required, one cannot assume that the reader understands the original language.
It is usual to quote the original as well as presenting the translation. [Do not put quotation marks around your translation, just around the original]
Umberto Eco argues ("in Mouse or rat?") that direct translation may lose meaning, paraphrase or use of different idioms may be required to get the ideas across. Paul Bellos ("Is that a fish in your ear?") makes a similar argument - direct translation may confound meaning... Direct translation may not be ideal - meaning and understanding are preferred - so, not to worry that your student with her good Spanish cannot present a direct translation.
What must be made clear is that the translations are those of the student; these are her understandings. Readers can make of that what they will - and if unsure, are presented with the original - they can seek another translation. A note in the acknowledgements and/or in the introduction to the effect that all translations are those of the writer is ... essential.
In response to the question about the Bibliography/Works cited, my preference would be to list the source in its original Thai version, but perhaps with the English in brackets, to help the examiner.
Your bibliography will have the entries in Thai characters first in the document. Any in-text citation to Thai sources will be in (Thai characters [English translation]).
Ex:
Citation in Thai [English translation]
Works Cited Example:
Wongpunya, Thanakorn. “โรงงานยาสูบรวยแค่ไหน และเอาเงินไปทำอะไรบ้าง.” [How rich is the Thailand Tobacco Monopoly and where does the money go?] (candidate translation). The Standard, The Standard, 30 Aug. 2018, thestandard.co/thailand-tobacco-monopoly/.
